Board Approves Chairwoman Michelle Steel’s Proposals for Food Security and Funding to Skilled Nursing Facilities and Community Clinics

On Tuesday, October 20th, The Orange County Board of Supervisors unanimously approved two proposals that will secure essential food and high-quality health care for Orange County residents.

The first, co-authored by Chairwoman Michelle Steel and Supervisor Donald P. Wagner, will provide an additional $3 million of funding to Support the Second Harvest Food Bank and the Community Action Partnership of Orange County.

“As we continue to navigate this crisis, its vital that the county has all the resources it needs to assist those most negatively impacted by the economic impacts caused by the state lockdowns,” said Chairwoman Steel. “With this financial support that will be administered by the Social Services Agency, the Orange County Residents that rely on food bank support for meals will continue to get the support they need.”

The second item, co-authored by Chairwoman Steel and Vice Chair Andrew Do, will provide $4.5 million in funding assistance to 66 skilled nursing facilities and 23 community clinics amid the COVID-19 pandemic.

 “This funding will support equipment, supplies staffing, training, and help the facilities provide high quality medical care for our most vulnerable populations,” added Chairwoman Steel. “Providing this essential assistance will help protect the health of our most vulnerable and help us get people get back to work safely.” 

* * * * *

First elected to the Orange County Board of Supervisors in 2014, Michelle Steel represents the residents of the Second District, which includes, Costa Mesa, Cypress, Huntington Beach, La Palma, Los Alamitos, Newport Beach, Seal Beach, Stanton, the unincorporated area of Rossmoor, and portions of Buena Park and Fountain Valley. Steel, a successful businesswoman and renowned taxpayer advocate, previously served as Vice Chair of the State Board of Equalization where she represented more than eight million people in Southern California, including all of Orange County, as one of the state’s 12 constitutional officers.